23-Year-Old Arrested After Driving on a Suspended License a Whopping 65 Times
For most people, getting a suspended license once is enough of a warning to get your act together behind the wheel. A lesson many of us learned in Driver’s ED is “A driver’s license isn’t a right. It’s a privilege.” Meaning if you are an unfit driver, the government has the authority to suspend, and in some cases, revoke your license. But what does it say when someone has a suspended license 65 times by the time they turn 23?
That was the case for a woman from Long Island, NY who was finally arrested by police after having her driver’s license suspended a whopping 65 times.
Can You Get Arrested for a Suspended License?
In a report by NBC New York, Janelda Camille was arrested after traveling 95 mph in a 55 mph zone in a 2000 Honda Accord at 2 o’clock in the morning. When the police officer asked for her license, she failed to present it due to it being suspended 65 times in 12 different states. She was also arrested for aggravated unlicensed operation (AUO) of a motor vehicle in the first degree from a crash in 2021.
Under New York law, being charged with an AUO (which is driving with a suspended or revoked license) is punishable by a $200-$500 fine, mandatory surcharge, and potential imprisonment of up to 30 days or probation.
To make matters worse, it is being reported that Camille has never shown up to any of her suspension hearings. Additionally, the New York DMV does not notify the police of drivers that have received several suspensions. They were not aware of her poor driving record until she was pulled over. “I’m just glad we were able to stop this individual before she ended up hurting somebody or hurting herself,” says Suffolk County Police Commissioner Rodney Harrison to NBC New York.
However, because she is more than a repeat offender of driving with a suspended license, it may be likely for the state of New York to bestow a more serious punishment to hopefully send a message.